…learned about New York’s best unknown buildings

Today's the day I...

One of my favourite things this year has been discovering New York’s secret oddities, from clocks in sidewalks to ghost subway stops. So when I heard the Brooklyn Brainery was hosting a talk about New York’s best under-appreciated buildings I thought I could hit two birds with one stone – going to my first ever architecture talk in the city while also picking up some tips for new, lesser-known places to check out in the future.

The lecture was held by city architect Stephen Dargo. We gathered in the Brainery’s classroom in Prospect Heights and settled down to his 90-minute slideshow.Brooklyn Brainery

P1100104

He covered a range of buildings so I’ve picked out a few of my favourites.Most eye-catching was the Starrett Lehigh Building, which takes up an entire block between 11th and 12th Avenue on 26th Street. It is enormous – 1.8 million square feet – and unlike anything I’ve…

View original post 473 more words

Leave a Reply

